Autism. WOW.

Just another WordPress.com site

Talkin’ about food. Again.

on March 27, 2012

Seriously, I promise I’m not turning this into a food blog – but lately we’ve really been putting a lot of effort into eating gluten-free (and mostly casein-free, but that has admittedly been more circumstantial than intentional), so for the time being, that’s what autism looks like at our house. Plus we’ve gone from struggling to find Javier social opportunities, to having something for him to do almost every day of the week, in a pretty short amount of time – which is awesome! But tiring. Leaving me little energy left over for blogging. And so here I am, feeling the need to stay current, but not wanting to whine too much….So I’m sharing a few more recipes, sites, and resources we’ve been loving lately. I hope you’ll find something you can use here – and love! – so please enjoy.

So I think when you’ve made the decision to go GFCF, you spend a lot of time thinking about all the things you can’t have. I know I did. And this is wrong. Like most people, we started out eating pretty similarly to how we were eating before, but with substitutions. Swapping out regular pasta for gluten-free pasta, regular bread for gluten-free stuff, and…well you get the idea. Basically you’re still stuck on the same packaged crap from the supermarket that none of us should be eating anyway – only now it comes with a bigger price tag. So I decided to take it a step further, and announced that we would be giving up all grains. I know, it may sounds drastic – and it’s a big commitment, so don’t do it all at once – but since taking the plunge, I really feel like we’re on to something. I have been spending a bit more at the store, but since we’ve given up beer (made from grains!), the expense has kind of evened out.

This weekend, I made this delicious Apple Spice Coffee Cake from Against All Grain. Baked with almond flour, it was a huge success – which was encouraging, since only a few weeks ago we tried baking with coconut flour and weren’t “thrilled” with the results. Still plan to experiment in the future, but at this point – almond flour is definitely the way to go! For sweets, anyway. And you need your sweets.

Against All Grain - Apple Spice Coffee Cake

Speaking of sweets, last week saw our first batch of sweet potato brownies. Yep, that’s what I said. Sweet Potato Brownies, recipe courtesy of PaleOMG, which happens to be one of my new favorite sites. Don’t be intimidated – the woman who writes this blog is exceptionally fit! But the blog is written with a very laid-back style. No preachiness here. Highly recommend. This recipe calls for only a few tablespoons of coconut flour – but don’t worry, this is not the recipe with the “questionable” outcome that I mentioned before.

PaleOMG's Sweet Potato Brownies. Yum!

Got a crock pot? Because we also tried this recipe from PaleOMG – Honey Ginger Apple Shredded Pork. To be honest, I don’t love pork. Bacon, of course – but I just have no real appreciation for pork roast, pork loin. Well except for those spiral cut flame crafted hams that they put out around Easter. You know, with that crunchy brown sugar glaze that’s all crunchy and sticky and oh my god……well, you know what I’m talking about. I love those. But other pork, not so much. But the family did love this recipe – and it makes your house smell wonderful!

Honey Ginger Apple Shredded Pork - PaleOMG

So those are the big three that we really enjoyed this week. Other than that, it’s been a lot of experimentation and tinkering in the kitchen. I’m trying to pick out vegetables that I’ve let intimidate me in the past. Giant leafy chard-like greens are a new favorite. And we’ve discovered that if you’re not sure what to do with something, a little lemon juice and chopped-up bacon never seems to hurt.

Do you follow a gluten-free and/or casein-free diet? What foods are you loving lately?


4 responses to “Talkin’ about food. Again.

  1. Nicole says:

    Wow, you’re totally impressing me with your creativity and motivation, Kristin! Kudos to you for taking the time and effort to experiment in the kitchen with a whole new way of eating! I want to try that apple coffee cake and those sweet potato brownies :D Thanks for the ideas.

    On the subject of what food I’m lovin’…I went to a cooking class and sampled a vegan sloppy joe sandwich, which was out of this world. So I made it for the meat-eating family a week ago and it was a tremendous hit :) http://whyy.org/cms/fit/recipes/sloppy-joe-the-vegan-sandwich/
    I’ve also become very partial to a pureed parsnip soup — I never had parsnips in my childhood, and it turns out that I’m quite fond of them ;)

  2. kristinsays says:

    Thanks, Nicole. Your comment means a lot, considering that we’ve gone from vegan to “practically paleo” in a fairly short time. (I am being really thoughtful in selecting my meat and eggs, though…).
    Before making (another) switch, I did prepare vegan cheese steaks a couple times – and they were really tasty! I’m going to have to give parsnips a try. I have used them in past root vegetable combinations, but they’ve never played a starring role at our table. I’ll put ‘em on the list for next week! ;)

  3. Cheryl says:

    Thanks for the links. I started following AutismWow because my granddaughter has autism. But it so happens I have celiac disease (so far my son & grandkids do not). So I have shared some of your GF links with our celiac group as well. Some of our members also are casein free, soy free, egg & dairy free. So this gives everybody some new recipes and sites AND spreads autism awareness at the same time. I very much enjoy your site, the blogs, and the sharing.

    • kristinsays says:

      Thank you, Cheryl! I’m happy to know that people from Facebook are reading. :)

      I have to tell you, though I didn’t intend to in the beginning – I think I’m going to devote this space to half-food, half “other autism stuff”. I would say that we’ve always been relatively healthy eaters, but like most people, we have resorted to convenience food when necessary. This is the first time that I’m really thinking about every single item that goes into my basket. Gluten-free hasn’t become a passion *yet* – but I am really enjoying it! Everything fresh, natural – it feels good.

      Thanks, too, for being an awesome grandmother. They’re not all like you, you know…. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

